Become a Member Become a Member

Wallaby Airlines 35SQN Association 

Our Mission

To improve the quality of life for current and past service men and women in Royal Australian Air Force. 

Reach out to us.

We are here for you. If you need us or a mate needs us - just sing out we'll do what we can to help. 


How did we get started?

We started marching together here in Brisbane on ANZAC Day 1993 as RTFV-35 SQN. Then after that march we formed an ANZAC Day march committee to attend parade meetings and organise the after March function every year.

As the group began to grow, we not only had past service men and women, but also current RAAF Service men and women joining at regular events. It was on ANZAC Day 2023, that it was announced and unanimously decided to change the name of the Association to Wallaby Airlines 35SQN Association, and establish the charitable purpose, and finally make it official to provide ongoing support for our members where ever we can. 

Who drives the association forward? 

John McDougall

John Sambrooks

Trevor benneworth
Trevor Benneworth
Trevor benneworth

History of 35 Squadron

No. 35 Squadron was formed at RAAF Base Pearce on 11 March 1942. Initially flying only within Western Australia and later to cover all of Australia and New Guinea from August 1943. It also flew the south-west Pacific following the Japanese surrender in August 1945. No. 35 Squadron flew Australian soldier and ex-prisoners home in early 1946. It supported No. 81 wing as part of the British Commonwealth Occupation Force. The Squadron was disbanded at Townsville on 10 June 1946.

In 1964, the Australian Government decided to deploy an Australian transport unit to Vietnam. The first of the rugged RAAF DHC-4A Caribou aircraft. Three of these aircraft (A4-171, -179 and -185) were diverted direct to Vietnam, arriving Vung Tau on 8 August 1964. The first deployment to Vietnam was known as RAAF Transport Flight Vietnam. RTFV -35SQN. used the call-sign "Wallaby' and later became known as "Wallaby Airlines".

On 1 June 1966 it was redesignated No. 35 Squadron at Vung Tau in South Vietnam. The aircraft that No. 35 Squadron operated were Fox Moth (1942 -1943), de Havilland Dragon (1942 -1943), de Havilland Moth Minor (1942 -1943), Fairey Battle (1942 -1943), de Havilland Tiger Moth (1942 -1943), Avro Anson (1942 -1943), de Havilland Dragon Rapide (1942 -1943), Northrop Delta (1942 -1943), Douglas Dakota (1943 -1946), de Havilland Canada DHC-4 Caribou (1966 - 2000), Bell UH-1 Iroquois (1977 - 1989).

Documents of Interest

Useful Links

Who makes it possible to deliver our support?

Sponsors - K.M. Smith Funeral Directors

Sponsor - Ranking Australia

Wallaby Airlines 35SQN Association

Keeping us all connected

Become a Member Become a Member